• Thu. Jul 18th, 2024

Scotland Connected

Hopping Across Scotland From Hub To Hub

Who is Line for the British Monarchy


May 30, 2023 #British Monarchy

Who is in Line for the British Monarchy?

The British monarchy is one of the oldest and most historic institutions in the world. It is a constitutional monarchy, with the monarch serving as a figurehead and the government being led by a Prime Minister. While the role of the monarch has evolved over time, one thing that remains constant is the line of succession.

The current monarch, Queen Elizabeth II, has been on the throne since 1952 and is the longest-reigning monarch in British history. She has four children, eight grandchildren, and ten great-grandchildren. But who is in line for the British monarchy and how is the line of succession determined?

The Line of Succession

The line of succession is the order in which members of the royal family would ascend to the throne if the current monarch were to abdicate, die, or be deposed. The line of succession is determined by a set of rules known as the Succession to the Crown Act, which was passed in 2013.

Under the Succession to the Crown Act, the line of succession is based on birth order: the eldest child is first in line, followed by their siblings in birth order. In the past, male heirs took precedence over female heirs, which is why Queen Elizabeth II’s younger brother, Prince Andrew, is ahead of her in the line of succession. However, this rule was changed in 2013 so that male and female heirs are treated equally.

This means that Prince Charles is next in line to the throne after Queen Elizabeth II. He is followed by his eldest son, Prince William, and then by Prince William’s children: Prince George, Princess Charlotte, and Prince Louis.

The Rest of the Line of Succession

After the immediate family of the monarch, the line of succession includes more distant relatives. These include the monarch’s siblings, nieces, nephews, and cousins. However, the further down the line of succession one goes, the less likely it is that they will ever be crowned monarch.

Currently, the line of succession to the British monarchy looks like this:

  1. Prince Charles, the Prince of Wales
  2. Prince William, the Duke of Cambridge
  3. Prince George of Cambridge
  4. Princess Charlotte of Cambridge
  5. Prince Louis of Cambridge
  6. Prince Harry, the Duke of Sussex
  7. Archie Mountbatten-Windsor (son of Prince Harry)
  8. Prince Andrew, the Duke of York
  9. Princess Beatrice of York
  10. Princess Eugenie of York

After Princess Eugenie, the line of succession includes many more distant relatives, including Queen Elizabeth II’s cousins and their children and grandchildren. However, it is highly unlikely that any of these individuals will ever become monarch.

What Happens if the Monarch Dies?

If the current monarch were to die, there are clear protocols in place for the accession of the new monarch. The monarch’s death would be announced by the Accession Council, which is made up of various members of the royal family and government officials.

After the announcement, the new monarch would be proclaimed within 24 hours. If the new monarch is already in London, he or she would be taken to Buckingham Palace to spend the night. The next day, the monarch would travel to Westminster Abbey for a coronation ceremony, which is typically attended by members of the royal family, government officials, and dignitaries from around the world.


While the British monarchy may seem like an archaic institution to some, it remains a significant part of British culture and history. The line of succession is a key aspect of this institution, determining who will ascend to the throne after the current monarch. With Prince Charles next in line, followed by Prince William and his children, the British monarchy is likely to continue for many years to come.

By admin